No Admission Fee For Endurance Event Spectators At TIEP

SETIU, Aug 11 (Bernama) -- No admission fee will be charged on spectators of the 9th SEA Games Endurance event at the Terengganu International Endurance Park (TIEP) on Aug 20.

The chairman of the Technical and Voluntary Committee (Endurance) 2017, Ir Che Mohd Apandi Muhamad said no charge or special ticket would be imposed on spectators in order to give wider exposure for the sport especially to the people of Terengganu.

"The endurance event is seldom participated by the general public, thus, when the sport is held in Setiu, Terengganu, we want all the local people and Malaysians to feel and watch the sport for themselves.

"In addition, from Aug 16 to 20, the state government will promote the Endurance event at the ?Karnival My Setiu' which is also held at TIEP from 10 am to 10 pm. This carnival is also organised to attract visitors as well as to introduce Terengganu and especially Setiu in conjunction with Visit Beautiful Terengganu 2017," he said in an interview with Bernama, here today.

Che Mohd Apandi, who is also the TIEP venue manager, expected more than 2,000 visitors to come and give their support to the competing Malaysian team.

"The Endurance event will begin at 5 am until 3 pm on that day, so Malaysians can come and show their support for our national team.

"On Aug 12 (tomorrow) the soft launch for the 29th SEA Games Endurance Championship will be held at the Gong Badak Mini Stadium Complex in Kuala Nerus," he added.

Based on records, the national squad collected two gold medals at 2013 SEA Games in Myanmar via the 80 kilometres men's team comprising Mohd Bulkhari Rozali, Asri Abdul Azizi, Abdul Halim Alihan, Mohd Hisyamuddin Daud and Mohd Sulaiman Muda who also contributed the 80km individual gold medal.

Malaysia also clinched gold in the two events in 2001 when the country hosted the 21st SEA Games in which Malaysia emerged as the overall Games champions with 111 gold medals followed by Thailand (103 gold medals), and Indonesia (72 gold medals).

Malaysia hosted the SEA Games for the first time in 1965 and the country had since went to host the SEA Games in 1971, 1977, 1989 and 2001.